Korean, Music

K-INDIE MIXTAPE: VOL 01 [Acoustic from Korea]

Inspired by my lovely Mexican friend and her lovely mixtape for Pachinko Overdrive (if you haven’t download it yet, you should!), Cipa, I’ve decided to make my own #kindie mixtape too. Because she already did a great job at choosing the best Korean indie-pop songs for her mixtape, I’m going to do it differently.

Since I’m a biggest fan of acoustic music to begin with, so this time I’m making an acoustic #kindie mixtape. While mixing the songs, I wonder how Korean indie bands did that, you know, creating such awesomeness in music with something that sounds so simple.

To be honest, I had a really tough time choosing the songs but after a looooong consideration, this is my final track list for the mix. Let me know if you guys enjoy it, I might make another one some other time πŸ˜‰

 


K-INDIE MIXTAPE: VOL 1 [Acoustic from Korea]

Tracklist:
1. μ˜€λŠ˜λ°€μ€ 어둠이 λ¬΄μ„œμ›Œμš” (Tonight, I’m Afraid of the Dark) – 10cm
2. Sunshine – 짙은 (Zitten)
3. Sunday – μš”μ‘° (Yozoh)
4. λΉ¨μ£Όλ…Έμ΄ˆνŒŒλ‚¨λ³΄ – μ˜₯상달빛 (OksangDalbit/Dalmoon)
5. μ°½ 밖은 ν‰ν™”λ‘œμš΄ 식탁 – μ•ˆλ…•λ°”λ‹€ (Bye Bye Sea)
6. 널 생각해 (Think About You) – One More Chance
7. κ·Έλ¦¬μ›Œ (Longing) – MATE
8. Lazy Sunday Morning – Clazziquai Project
9. Labor in Vain (reprise) – Linus’ Blanket
10. 보고 μ‹Άμ–΄μ„œ, μ•ˆκ³  μ‹Άμ–΄μ„œ, λ§Œμ§€κ³  μ‹Άμ–΄μ„œ…(I want to see you, I want to embrace you, I want to touch you..) – Low-End Project
11. μ‚¬λž‘μ— λΉ μ Έλ³Έ 적 μžˆλ‚˜μš” with Ra.D (Acoustic Ver.)Β (Have you ever been in love) – Standing Egg
12. Regretto – Tearliner
13. Just a Feeling – Urban Zakapa

I love stating my reason when I choose things. So this is a quick reason why I decided to choose this 13 awesome songs for my mixtape πŸ˜€

Track 01 – μ˜€λŠ˜λ°€μ€ 어둠이 λ¬΄μ„œμ›Œμš” (Tonight, I’m Afraid of the Dark) by 10cm
Despite of my huge obsession of 10cm’s μ£½κ² λ„€ (the song beats Oasis on my last.fm profile! :P), this song is truly the most loveable piece of 10cm you shouldn’t left unnoticed. I bet all my life you’d love this song the first time you hear it. As usual, JongYeol’s vocal fit perfectly with the super romantic lyrics (read the translation here). The kind of song you want to hear your boyfriend sing it to you!

Track 02 – Sunshine by 짙은 (Zitten)
If I want to go out having a picnic on a sunny day, this song would definitely be on top of my playlist. Zitten never fails to make me happy with their soft vocal (I wonder how a guy’s voice could sound so incredibly calming and sweet!). “Sunshine” was featured as the soundtrack for Save the Air: Green Concert’s video promotion and on the album itself. Favorite.

Track 03 – Sunday by μš”μ‘° (Yozoh)
The perfect tune for your Sunday indeed. And the perfect example why all Korean girls with such cute voice should go solo. This song is too cute to be missed.

Track 04 – λΉ¨μ£Όλ…Έμ΄ˆνŒŒλ‚¨λ³΄ by μ˜₯상달빛 (OksangDalbit/Dalmoon)
Dalmoon (I’m gonna go with their english name since OksangDalbit is basically the romanization of their korean name) is one of the band that always makes you feel like a child everytime you listen to them. 2 super cute girls with only piano and guitar singing songs about cute stuff, who can resist?!

Track 05 – μ°½ 밖은 ν‰ν™”λ‘œμš΄ 식탁 by μ•ˆλ…•λ°”λ‹€ (Bye Bye Sea)
A totally different piece from Bye Bye Sea, since they usually go with more of a rock feeling. But this song is so relaxing and the way Namu sang is just so sad and full of feelings. Not exactly the best from them, but kudos for trying something so different πŸ™‚

Track 06 – 널 생각해 (Think About You) by One More Chance
One of my favorite korean song ever. This is one of the love song that you will fall in love with the lyrics instantly. Nothing’s cheesy, but just plain wonderful. Accompanied by awesome vocal from Park Won, the song is the one you’re going to unconsiously humm when you miss someone.

Track 07 – κ·Έλ¦¬μ›Œ (Longing) by MATE
I put the movie version of the song since it’s more “live” and had more acoustic feeling. MATE is one of my best #kindie discovery so far. This song would totally make you cry because it’s just beyond beautiful. JoonIl’s voice accompanied by his super sad guitar strums.. I just lost for words. Beautiful.

Track 08 – Lazy Sunday Morning by Clazziquai Project
I love that Clazziquai Project always full of surprises! They provide us with some sexy songs, the kind of music you would totally dancing to, and then… this. An english-lyrics (with a perfect pronounciation, of course :P) acoustic song with one-of-Fluxus-best-ever-had-voices, Horan and Alex. Their perfect chemistry totally add more feeling to the song, making this tune so simple yet so lovely.

Track 09 – Labor in Vain by Linus’ Blanket
You can never missed out Linus’ Blanket for your #kindie mixtape, that’s just a mistake to begin with! πŸ˜› This time I put in the reprise version of Labor in Vain from their fresh-from-the-oven album, Show Me Love. Let’s just say I’m madly in love with the song before they did the acoustic version of it, and when they do.. I just love them even more!

Track 10 – 보고 μ‹Άμ–΄μ„œ, μ•ˆκ³  μ‹Άμ–΄μ„œ, λ§Œμ§€κ³  μ‹Άμ–΄μ„œ… (I want to see you, I want to embrace you, I want to touch you..) by Low-End Project
Depressingly beautiful. Enough said.

Track 11 – μ‚¬λž‘μ— λΉ μ Έλ³Έ 적 μžˆλ‚˜μš” with Ra.D (Acoustic Ver.) (Have you ever been in love) by Standing Egg
Favorite song to listen to when I feel like in love all over again with my boyfriend. I like the way they mixed it with a lil’ bit of acapella in some part of the song. “Have you ever fall in love? I do” actually got stuck in my head for days. I bet it’s going to crowned the most played on my iTunes sooner or later (and I hope your iTunes too!).

Track 12 – Regretto by Tearliner
This is actually the first instrumental song that I repeat over and over again, because it’s just too comfortable to listen to. Reminds me so much of DEPAPEPE but more like the soft-strums version of them. Best tune to accompany you when you do some light readings πŸ˜‰

Track 13 – Just a Feeling by Urban Zakapa
I need to sum up my tracklist with something so incredible, that’s why I choose this as a closing! Urban Zakapa totally nailed the song by being so vocally awesome. My most played for this month. This is actually the remake version of SES song that came out on the 90’s. But more on that later… on my next post, hehehe.

 

Download link: http://www.mediafire.com/?dokhck72bt3h0bq

Enjoy!

* I apologized if the size of the mix is too large because almost all the song is 320kbps. But you won’t be sorry. The mixtape was intend to be listen in the greatest quality it could get! πŸ˜€

Standard

18 thoughts on “K-INDIE MIXTAPE: VOL 01 [Acoustic from Korea]

    • Ah glad I found another friend to share with!! Cobain album barunya Casker yang judulnya Journey, atau J-Rabbit Christmas albumnya juga lucu banget πŸ™‚

  1. Linh says:

    Great playlist! some of them are my favourite too.
    There are too many great K-indie songs for me to download all ❀
    Please keep sharing more mixtapes in the future :))

    • Thank you ❀ I know, there's just so many things too explore I got overwhelmed sometimes, hehe. but yes, I'll try to make more in the future πŸ™‚

  2. halo kak! makasih ya list-nya. tapi kompilasinya sih link broken 😦 aku juga suka k-indie esp J-Rabbit and One More Chance. Tapi One more chance susah nyari lagunya, ada rekomendasi ga kak?
    Oh iya, salam kenal πŸ™‚

    • Maaf emang link yang diatas belum di update, tapi udah re-upload lagi kok http://www.mediafire.com/download/6c5bipuj5julmli/KINDIEMIX01.rar πŸ˜€
      Iya emang OMC susah banget dicari lagunya, merekanya sendiri juga jarang banget muncul sih hiks. Derita banget ya kita sukanya yang indie-nya kebangetan :’)) Rekomen apa ya? Paling akhir akhir ini lagi sering dengerin proyek solo-nya Jung Joon Il sambil nunggu MATE balik lagi sih.

      Salam kenal juga ya!

      • Hihi, sama-sama!

        Entah kenapa aku juga ngerasa skena K-indie akhir akhir ini lagi nyantai banget, rilisan baru lagi jarang. Eh tapi gatau juga sih apa aku yang kurang update aja ya 8′) Tapi coba aja follow @koreanindie di twitter, kadang dia suka ngebahas rilisan yang jadul jadul gitu jadi pengetahuan kita nambah.

Leave a Reply

